Let us help you comply with Florida’s Food Handler Certification Requirement
We provide Food Handler courses online as well as in live classroom style sessions.
Florida food handler training is mandated by Florida law (509.049) within 60 days of hire. Every non managerial food & beverage employee front and back of the house in an establishment licensed under the Department of Business & Professional Regulation (DBPR) Division of Hotels & Restaurants (DOHR) needs food handler certification. The course is very basic and the certification card obtained upon completion of the course is good for (3) three years.
We train your current staff and keep up with training your new hires. Our live training is conducted throughout the state of Florida at convenient locations on a regular basis. Online Food Handler courses are easily accessible 24/7 at https://responsiblevendors.learnupon.com/store/131500-florida-food-handler-course.
Of course, our program is an approved one and the instructors teaching live are all certified food managers.
Our Food Handler Course includes subjects such as safety and sanitation, the prevention of food borne illness, cross contamination, personal hygiene, proper handwashing, food borne hazards, food allergies and many other pertinent topics straight out of the FDA Food Code.
In live training, we issue certification cards for each attendee, provide the establishment with a copy of each card and a report reflecting everyone who attended the training as well as a certificate for the property to display. Learners completing the online Food Handler training attain a certificate and are asked to forward or copy the certificate to management who also receive a report reflecting online attendance.
Food Handlers are uploaded onto the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Division of Hotels and Restaurants’ website.
Meetings are provided for where you may send your new hires to live training food handler courses within the 60 day requirement from the time they are hired.
We have bi-lingual instructors who can teach in different languages upon request.
Food Handler certification is good for three years and must include all dishwashers, cooks, hosts, servers, bartenders, food runners, bussers, barbacks and expeditors.
Managers must have current food manager certification cards. Food Handler is not the same as food manager certification and will not substitute for it. See Food Manager for food manager certification course information.
When an inspector from the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Division of Hotels and Restaurants (DOHR) inspects a restaurant, he checks to see that everyone is trained and has a current certification card. It is a violation if they don’t and is punishable by up to a $1000 fine.
Consequently, if you would like to hear how we can keep you compliant with this law, please call us at 305-628-2428 or 800-329-7081 or email us at so that we may assist you in this effort.